Sign in with
Your question

P67 vs z68

Last response: in Motherboards
June 13, 2011 10:47:32 PM

Good Afternoon Everyone,

I am putting together a new PC and was wondering if I should get a P67 or Z68 motherboard. I am going to be mostly using it for gaming and streaming movies. My preference is to get the motherboard from Amazon as I am a prime customer and I dont pay sales tax( I live in CA). The problem is that they dont have many Z68 motherboards yet. The parts that I have so far are a i5-2500k, GTX 570, Spinpoint F3. I have no experience with overclocking but I am going to try with this PC. Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. I do plan to eventually go SLI but not right now.

Thank You

More about : p67 z68

June 14, 2011 12:21:48 AM

From what I've come to understand (keep in mind I'm a newb) the difference between the two is not huge. If you're going to have a SSD (which you won't from your description), then a Z68 is a better choice.

Overall, the Z68 is a better choice but there's no problem going with a P67. That's just the general answer I've found through previous searching, so I can't really back up my answer any more than I have.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a b V Motherboard
June 15, 2011 4:06:08 AM

nd4vr said:
Good Afternoon Everyone,

I am putting together a new PC and was wondering if I should get a P67 or Z68 motherboard. I am going to be mostly using it for gaming and streaming movies. My preference is to get the motherboard from Amazon as I am a prime customer and I dont pay sales tax( I live in CA). The problem is that they dont have many Z68 motherboards yet. The parts that I have so far are a i5-2500k, GTX 570, Spinpoint F3. I have no experience with overclocking but I am going to try with this PC. Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. I do plan to eventually go SLI but not right now.

Thank You