Sign in with
Your question

CM 690 II Question (also vs Antec 300s)

Last response: in Components
October 20, 2010 5:10:13 PM

Hi all - I am deep into researching various parts for my upcoming FIRST build.

On cases, I am narrowing to
CM 690 II (basic or advanced....probably basic)
Antec 300
Antec 300 Illusion

I like the basic, un-logoed look of the 300....and for 10 bucks more might just go with the Illusion. The 690 II is nice too, but for looks I like the Antecs better - less logo and a nice clean look. Painted black inside of the CM is nicer though.

BUT I sort of think the eSata port on the Cm 690 is nice.....for plugging in backup drives without having to snake the eSata cord from the back. Maybe its not a big deal though as I have a dock now and could theoretically just hook that up through the back on a permanent basis going forward.

One question on front case ports like eSata......bear with me as I'm a noob.....does that just hook to the mobo Sata port using a normal eSata cable....ie its just a connector pass-thru basically from the inside of the case to the outside? Same for the USB 2.0 front ports?

Separate question which might affect the above considerations.....as I will be getting a USB 3.0 mobo....will USB 3.0 be the new best option for external drives and docks over next few years, to the extent that I will be using one of the rear USB 3.0 plugs anyway? (I haven't seen any cases with USB 3.0 front ports yet).

Any other reasons I should pick the CM 690 ii over the Antecs? Some reviews were saying the tool-less design on the CM 690 ii is nice.....I guess I don't really care much about putting a few screws in the side of a HDD every once and awhile....I won't be swapping these things on a daily or monthly basis.....build quality between the two?

Thanks for your help everyone
a c 164 ) Power supply
October 20, 2010 5:22:22 PM