My component selection for AM3 system, looks OK?

bapc

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2010
Hi!

I'm planning on building a custom PC instead of buying from HP, Dell, etc. After several days of researching, I've come up with the following components.

Before I post let me note that I do graphic design, Photoshop, some 3D work with Cinema 4D, and video editing.

I understood that the i7 is better for graphic and video work, BUT I don't think it justifies the cost as I'm trying to build under $1500. Besides the GPU I chose is better than the similar priced Nvidia variant. Of course I'm no hardware expert, that's why I'm posting here asking for help :) .... I'd GREATLY appreciate any feedback, tips or advice.

Ok so the components:

=====
- AMD Phenom II X6 1090T

- Radeon HD 5850

- ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
(I went with 890GX instead of FX chipset because I'll never use multi GPU)

- OCZ Gold 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ3G1333LV8GK

(Is this an appropriate RAM? I'm kinda confused on RAM. This one is 1.65v which I assume is better than 1.5v, also with 9-9-9-20 timing which I assume is better than 9-9-9-24 ... am I wrong?)

- Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W
=========

I haven't decided on the case (I'm leaning towards the Antec 300), and the hard drives etc. I can pick later, but first I need to see if the components I posted above will be okay and adjust pricing later for the other parts.

Thanks again!!

bapc

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2010
For RAM around $200, is a CAS 7 1066 DDR3 more powerful than a CAS 9 1333 DDR3?

I'm looking at a dual channel kit, the CAS 7 is $10 less than the CAS 9 1333.

Which would you suggest?

thanks.

bapc

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2010
Actually I think I'm going to have to re-think this build.

I just realized that I can get a i7 930, Asus board, and GeForce GTX 470 (I think is better than the Radeon) for less than the components I listed above!

Plus I'll get CUDA support for a little boost.