Sign in with
Your question

Why are my RAM benchmark scores so low?

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
a b B Homebuilt system
a b } Memory
August 12, 2010 12:24:09 AM

I ran several tests of Performancetest 7.0 and I keep getting low numbers on my RAM. Please feel free to be condescending, as I am a noob who's here to learn.

I have:
AMD Athlon II X3 440 Triple Core
Windows 7 64-bit
6 GB DDR3 RAM
NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GT
2, 160GB SATA HDD's set up in RAID 0
1 75GB IDE HDD
.... more info if you think it'd be helpful
(The RAM is 2 sticks of Corsair CM3X 1024, and 2 sticks of ASint 2GB)

What I can't understand is my memory is all clocked to 667 MHz (whatever that means) and the stickers on all four sticks (2 at 2GB and 2 at 1GB) all say 1333 somewhere in the numbers. Does this account for the slow benchmark scores?

If it's helpful, here's the numbers:
Memory Mark: 310.5
Memory - Allocate Small Block 778.4
Memory- Read Cached 347.6
Memory- Read Uncached 349.3
Memory- Write 787.6
Memory- Large RAM 787.6

These numbers are very low compared to similar specs on other computers that uploaded their scores, and they aren't even as good as my wife's P4 3.4 GHz w/ 32-bit XP, and 4 GB (3.25 recognized) RAM.

My wife and I have roughly the same apps running (av, spyware, keyscrambler, firewall, etc.), so how in the heck are my numbers so dang low?

And strangely enough, my Windows Experience Index rated my Memory/RAM at a 7.2 on a 7.9 scale. So that's gotta be really high, right? that makes me even more weirded out at the benchmark scores.

On a completely unrelated note, I purchased this computer used, and the remote control access was on. That's not a default, is it? I ran Malwarebytes, Avast, and turned on Comodo Firewall... I didn't see anything wrong with any of them. But should I be worried? I don't want to format.

More about : ram benchmark scores low

a b B Homebuilt system
a b } Memory
August 12, 2010 12:46:57 AM