Sign in with
Your question

Will ATI 5450 work with old AL8-V m/b

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
Anonymous
a b U Graphics card
July 7, 2010 4:04:38 PM

Hi, I'm a noob builder so be kind!

I have a pc my uncle built for me 3 years ago. It has a 128 mbit graphics card which I want to upgrade for Starcraft 2. Did some research yesterday and the ATI Radeon 5450 looks good and well-priced. My board is an Abit AL8-V (LGA775). Just wondering if they are compatible.

The card specs are here (http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/ati-rad...)

The board specs are here (http://www.abit.com.tw/page/en/motherboard/motherboard_...)

I was also thinking of getting a new monitor. If anyone can advise on a full HD screen, with 2 HDMI (cause I have a Ps3 also) and good brightness and contrast. Size around 20-22", preferably under €300

Many thanks!
Rob

More about : ati 5450 work al8

July 7, 2010 7:55:25 PM

Your card and board match, if there is a x16 PCIE slot your good. But there is a few problems that i have to let you know.

The gpu and the mobo aren't all you need to look at. You have to look at your psu ( power supply and your Cpu do to bottle necking reasons. I posted this in another thread i'll just copy and paste the post i made.

Quote:
The way you can check your power supply is by opening up the case and looking for a a box in some terms. Some times the box is black grey or what ever color. ( It stands out nicely ) Know once you located the - Box - or power supply look for a sticker. You should see something like this...
Click to zoom

The way you can check your power supply is by opening up the case and looking for a a box in some terms. Some times the box is black grey or what ever color. ( It stands out nicely ) Know once you located the - Box - or power supply look for a sticker. You should see something like this...