Sign in with
Your question

New ~$800 gaming build

Last response: in Systems
August 12, 2010 8:23:20 PM

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: ASAP (within a few days)

BUDGET RANGE: $800 maximum, but cheaper is of course better

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: School work, internet browsing, etc., programming, gaming, watching movies.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Mouse, monitor, DVD drive

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: No real brand loyalty here. I'm looking to maximize performance/price ratio at this budget level.

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe a bit; I've never done it before but I've always considered it.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: My old computer got fried the other night in a thunder storm, so I figured now is a good time to buy a new rig.

After a bit of research, I've come up with this build.

COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM

GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ600MXSP 600W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC ...

Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750

ASUS P7P55D LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard

Total price: $836.

This is a little overbudget, though not prohibitively so. Though I do want to add in a set of 5.1 speakers (my old ones also got fried in the storm), which would bring it up to $900 I suppose.