Sign in with
Your question

How should I go about upgrading my system?

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
August 13, 2010 1:21:27 AM

Hello everybody, I'm new to tom's hardware here and I thought this would be a good place to get some feedback on something that I've been taking into consideration - upgrading my computer hardware. First off, here are the specs of my system:

Mobo: ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 620 2.6GHz
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Video Card: EVGA GTX 260
PSU: CORSAIR 750-TX 750W

I want to upgrade my hardware so I can play games at higher frame rates than what I'm getting now. The first place I have considered upgrading is my CPU. I'm thinking an upgrade to the Phenom II 965 should suffice, but I'm not 100% sure, mainly because I don't know how much of a bottle neck my CPU is to my 260. That's where I sort of need the help - which upgrade will show me the biggest gain in fps, an upgrade in my CPU or graphics card? I do hope to upgrade both eventually, but I can't do both at the same time.

BTW, I'm playing at a 1680x1050 resolution in case you were wondering (and the monitor is a 120Hz one as well :)  )

More about : upgrading system

August 13, 2010 1:37:43 AM

i would start with the CPU as well, get the 965 BE cuz even though the athlon II isn't a bottleneck the 965 can help with extra cores and cpu intensive games

later get an ATI radeon 5770 or GTX 460
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
August 13, 2010 1:56:53 AM

I agree to a point... 1) Upgrade your CPU but don't go any higher than the X4 955 BE, as there is no need to do so. 2) I would get the GTX 460 1TB. It is a nice setup up from the ATI 5770, it is worth it. This beginning said, don't do a GPU until you see the impact of the CPU first. The GTX 260 is still a good GPU.
m
l
Related resources
August 13, 2010 2:02:21 AM

GB* tecmo
m
l
August 13, 2010 2:17:41 AM