Best option vs.dirty emf's

Status
Not open for further replies.

minni

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2008
Hi, my question flys in the face of current convention, so I'm appealing to anyone with enough imagination to picture him/herself in my situation. I'm not a tech expert like most of you. I'm merely trying to survive. Literally. I've been forced to become a detective, to try and figure out how to get the least combo of dirty electricity in my computer area.

For example, when the screen of my X31 thinkpad is turned off, there's alot less dirty noise than when it's on. The X31 is 1.4 ghz Pentium-M, yet it still zaps me eventually due to having become oversensitized. BTW, I'm also very sensitive to fluorescent lights, such as in stores, etc.

A filter expert notified me that even a common-mode filter would not help against frequencies emanating from circuitry that's within the computer display.

To get to the point:
What's unclear to me, is which of the below is the best option for someone desperate to minimize EMFs for health reasons. :sweat:

So here's the acid test:
If a portable AM radio tuned to white-noise is placed near any of the below, which would cause the radio to emit the least noise:

Lowest TDP net/notebook
...except TDP is never listed among specs!
Single Core processor (vs. duo) net/notebook
Low freq. celeron such as 800 mhz
low-voltage processor net/notebook
fit-pc + projector (vs. net/notebook)
pixelQi-type display
1.2ghz i7-640um
1.06ghz i7-620um or i5-520um

P.S. seems the only choice nowadays is either:
eyestrain (due to humongous size websites with tiny text squeezed to fit into tiny displays)
OR:
huge screens with their associated heavy EMFs that zap one's health
OR:
using projectors with either low-EMF PCs or with low-EMF netbooks

Other than the laptop and monitors, have you tried placing the offending devices behind a shield?