$1000ish Gaming Build, total newbie.

LowNSlowIan

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2010
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Within at least a Month.

BUDGET RANGE:800-1000~

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, old Asus with problematic video card will do the internet

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor ill get these later

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: I've heard on more than one occation that Intel > AMD but i cant form an opinion of my own hoping you guys would lead me in the right direction

OVERCLOCKING: Yes

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: ?

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: This is mostly for StarCraft 2 and for preparation on DC Universe and Guild Wars 2. I may be new but i have a few friends that can help me put this bad boy together plus im really looking forward to learning about all this. Thanks in advance guys.

Well in design and build gamers we have to take account of what resolution u would games on but $1k with carefully picked out parts can land ya a Full HD + decent gaming system with OS these days ^^

Tower @ $649AR
Untitled-700.jpg

23.6" LCD free photo printer free ship $180
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009252
OS $100
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116754
$929AR

coldsleep

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009
Intel's most expensive processors are better than AMD's most expensive processors for most tasks. At midrange budgets, the processors perform about the same. At the low end of the budget ($100 or less), you get much more for your money with AMD.

Your budget is a little low for an Intel i5-750, which is the standard Intel gaming processor. The AMD Phenom II X4 955 performs similarly on most games (Far Cry 2 excepted, for some reason), it's $40 less expensive, and you can generally buy a less expensive motherboard with the same features as an equivalent Intel motherboard.