Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Asus Xonar & AuzenTech

Last response: in Components
October 27, 2010 5:15:28 AM

Hey,

Most of the time, I am listening to music and watching movies. So I would say 40% music 40% movies 20% gaming. I am basically a complete newbie when it comes to audio, my friend recently got me into this, then I started to hear the difference between poor quality speakers/headphones and good ones.

I am contemplating to buy a sound card, just read a lot of articles and reviews on ASUS Xonar and AuzenTech. I am using Edifier S550 5.1 Speakers, and so I have in mind are

AuzenTech Forte
ASUS Xonar DX/D2X
ASUS Xonar ST/STX

ASUS Xonar DX price is very tempting around 60$ for me, Auzentech Forte's around 150$, and the rest are 200$, I can't seem to find AuzenTech Prelude in Canada. I am leaning towards DX or Forte. D2X is $100 more and I don't see much difference, since I don't need its features. ST/STX are expensive unless someone can convince me.

Thanks in advance,

More about : asus xonar auzentech

October 27, 2010 5:50:13 AM

I am using an X-FI titanium from creative, and loving it a lot. It seems like creative finally solved their driver problems.

I was actually going to go for the ASUS 60$ card, but I managed to get the titanium cheaper second hand, so I went for that instead.

for basic home use, like you describe, the ASUS Xonar DX should be more than plenty, and I would not look any further.

If your speakers support digital input I would use it. I would imagine they do since they ar a nice high end set, but from a quick google I get the sense that a lot of people want those speakers with digital... that there is no digital input (coaxial or optical)
October 27, 2010 6:31:24 AM