Two new comps: PC and PC or MAC and PC

daniyalrehan

Distinguished
Aug 15, 2010
Hey guys I'm a high-school student looking for two new computers. I need a desktop and laptop. My laptop will mostly be for on-the-go and be on my lap. I won't be playing games on it and mostly will be using it for work. As for my desktop I will be multitasking on it. I will be playing some of the latest games (battlefield Bad Company 2) and doing work on it too. Now I am confused on whether to get both PC's or a Mac and PC. This is what I had in mind.

Option 1:
Laptop: Macbook pro 13 inch ($1249)
Desktop: Custom made from cyberpowerpc... AMD phenom II x6, 4 gb of ram, and a 5770 video card or GTS 250. ($800)

Option 2:
Laptop: HP Pavillion 15 inch with AMD phenom II Quad core with HD 5650 1gb video card (999)
Desktop: Custom made from ibuypower... AMD phenom II x2, 4 gb of ram, and a 5770 video card or GTS 250. (800 dollars)

For my laptop I want one that comes with an IR sensor and a remote, also backlit keyboards are preferred.
For my desktop I just want one i can use smoothly for 3 years also I've been interested in liquid cooling which cyberpowerpc provides for free,

Please post your opinions and/or suggestions. Thank you.

Personally, If you don't really really want apple products, then don't go for one. Apple's products are sh*t expensive for the same specs, because you will be paying extra only for the word "MAC"

How about putting the link to those items? I am a little worried/curious about the $800 custom made PC.

Scott2010au

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2010
Look at something similar to the MacBook Pro 13" that runs Windows 7 x86.
You're not going to need more than 3GB of RAM in a student laptop.

Most of the tests people have performed here indicate that Windows 7 x86 boots about +45% faster than Windows 7 x64 on identical hardware.

Microsoft Office 2007, and I strongly suspect 2010, are not x64 executables yet anyway.