Gaming card for Dell 8400

xcherubx

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2010
Hey everyone,

I oringinally posted this in hte Windows XP forum b/c my computer runs Windows XP....and now I think I posted in the wrong place...OOPS! Sorry XD

Here is the post, please if you could help, I'm getting so many different answers from people. Some say a certain card will work, some say it wont, some say I cant upgrade at all....eeek!

Hi guys and gals,

I'm hoping someone could help me out here. I'm a complete noobie when it comes to upgrading computers. I have a Dell 8400 with the following specs...

I'm looking to upgrade my videocard for videogames. I like to play online games like WoW, and offline ones (wanting to try some Bioware stuff). I need a card that will be able to handle these current games, as well as the upcoming expansion for WoW. Any ideas? My current card is so bad I can barely play anymore. Help!! :heink:

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3

Motherboard:
CPU Type Unknown, 3000 MHz (3.75 x 800)
Motherboard Name Dell Inc. Dimension 8400
Motherboard Chipset Unknown
System Memory 2048 MB
BIOS Type Phoenix (03/16/05)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter RADEON X300 Series (128 MB)
Video Adapter RADEON X300 Series (128 MB)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (6418056L02NS)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Intel 82801FB ICH6 - AC'97 Audio Controller

Storage:
Disk Drive WDC WD1600JS-75MHB0
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVD-ROM GDR8163B
Optical Drive TSSTcorp CD-RW TS-H292B

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 148954 MB (97722 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Mouse HID-compliant mouse

Network:
Network Adapter Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller

Peripherals:
Printer Auto HP Photosmart C4700
Printer Auto HP5344F6 (HP Photosmart C4700 series)
Printer HP Photosmart C4700 series
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device