Masrawy1973

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2010
hi you guys,

im a first time builder and i need an urgent reply from all you enthusiasts out there please ASAP

1) is the Asus m5a87 a good board considering that it only has 3 audio ports and has only one x16 slot? (i dont think ill need crossfire)

2) or is the ASRock 870 EXTREME3 R2.0 Socket AM3 motherboard A better option? it has better features but i have heard that Asrock make bad quality unreliable products is this true?

3) in short, can you guys suggest any good mobo that supports am3+ cpus that good bang for the buck? i would prefer that it doesnt have built in graphics

please guys i need an urgent reply! thank you for anyone kind enough to help your help is deeply appreciated!

For a few bucks more, there is the new ASUS 990X board:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131757

Looks alot better than the weak m5a87. Asrock has actually been improving the rep for some time and I consider them to be fairly innovative withoout paying the high cost of Gigabyte and ASUS. I have several Asrock builds in operation (about 6) that are worry free. You should take each bord on its own merits however, and read as many reviews as you can to spot potential problems.

I think Gigabyte has a 890 or 990X board but it doesn't seem to be on newegg today...

channeledbymodem

Distinguished
May 16, 2011
I'm happy with the Asrock 890GX PRO3 I've had for about a month ($110). I wanted the 890GX chipset because I don't game and the 4290 IGP is sufficient for my home theater needs. Wasn't really aware of phases as regards overclocking but apparently this board has fairly good 4+1 phasing and heatsinked VRMs. I've taken an unlocked 555 BE to 3.7 with value RAM and good temps (Xigmatek S1283).

The board has the black AM3+ socket so I'm keeping my fingers crossed but I'll bet I don't upgrade until the FM1 boards are released that will support the higher powered CPU based graphics.