deserthermit

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2010
I plan on building a gamming computer. This is my first build. I am accumulating about 1 part per month, my budget allowing. So far I have an AZZA Solano 1000r case and a Cooler Master GX series rs650w power source. This month I am getting the processor.
I like the
AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX

And I also like the

AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz Socket AM3 80W Dual-Core Desktop Processor - C3 Revision HDZ555WFGMBOX

The quad has L2 4x512cache and the Dual has the same L2 cache and L3 6mb. Does this difference make a difference in gaming. I have read many debates on quad vs. dual and I am still confused. I have about 130$ in my budget, want to build amd. Any suggesti

Solution
One problem with buying a part at a time is that if you get a part that's bad and needs to be returned, you won't know until you get the whole thing put together.

In general, I think the best budget AMD processor is the Athlon II X3 440 or 445 (depending on the price difference -- last week they were $1 apart).

If you want more detailed advice, filling out the info requested in How to Ask for New Build Advice would be a great help.

coldsleep

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2009
One problem with buying a part at a time is that if you get a part that's bad and needs to be returned, you won't know until you get the whole thing put together.

In general, I think the best budget AMD processor is the Athlon II X3 440 or 445 (depending on the price difference -- last week they were $1 apart).

If you want more detailed advice, filling out the info requested in How to Ask for New Build Advice would be a great help.

Solution

deserthermit

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2010