Your Thoughts On Graphics Computing.

murda_rolla

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2010
I am interested in Nvidia's Cuda technology. That is to say I think that It definitely has some interesting possibilities. I am curious about what you guys have to say about this technology. Does ATI have anything like this? I have not really looked, but I though I'd ask. I'll have to look into that further. From what I can tell, ATI's 58XX series Is pretty much on top for now. Whilst Nvidia's 4XX is just plain disappointing. Just from what I have read they, run too hot, require much power and don't really preform all that well for how much you pay for them. I am not really looking for a new card. I am happy with my Silly little GTS 250 :/ As a software developer I am just curious as to what you guys have to say about this GPU processing technology. Flash 10.1 has GPU acceleration as does the current VLC release (1.1.0) I think that is safe to say that most people either don't know that this technology exists or just don't care (because It has little to no affect on them). Do you guys think Cuda is a joke or a fad and will go away? I think that the concept has some definite possibilities. Did this go into your though process when you bough your current GPU? I would thing that gamers really wouldn't care, but I though I would try and get the communities input. I mean really, what do you guys think about this? Can the GPU be used for more than just playing games?