Sign in with
Your question

CM 690 II Advanced - Front LED Fan Issue

Last response: in Components
October 30, 2010 5:17:47 PM

Hello all, :) 

Wanted to ask a question concerning a problem I have...

So I got my Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced, and it's got a front 120mm fan in the front... I decided one day to put it in a different location on my case and (noobishly), I didn't take note of which wire was for the power and which goes to the LED on/off button on the case.

Since I don't have much experience with fans and stuff, I plugged the fan power cable into the LED button port and the fan LED into the power port (Note: They were not labeled). Now my button on my case is dead, it had smoke coming outta it! And it doesn't get actuated anymore. I did also notice that the wire was fairly hot when I disconnected it, maybe it got shorted out or something.

In conclusion: The LED of the fan doesn't work no more, but the fan itself runs perfectly fine...

And so my question is: Is there anything I can do to get it working again? Or to hook it up directly?

Thanks in advance! :D 
a c 165 ) Power supply
October 30, 2010 5:38:04 PM

my guess is that ship has sailed. you can get a blue LED fan to replace it (antec, xigmatek, etc.,) and move the broken-LED fan to the top of the case or side panel.
October 30, 2010 5:40:29 PM

Firstly thanks for the reply.

Its behind a mesh/dust filter at the moment, barely visible, so its fine for the moment.

But if I were to get another LED fan, how would I connect it? Do I need a fan controller or something?
Related resources
a c 165 ) Power supply
October 30, 2010 5:49:01 PM

most fan come with 3-pin (some have a 4-pin) connector that can connect to a motherboard.

they also come with an adapter that you can connect to a 4-pin molex. the adapter has both a male & female connectors so you don't actually lose the molex. you can daisy chain several fans to one 4-pin molex or use it for whatever else.