Dvd drive plays movies, gives me permissions error if I explore disc

sinosleep

Honorable
Nov 17, 2012
Drive will play movies fine, but if I try to explore the disc it gives me a windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item error. It's also impossible to rip or create images from dvds on this drive so I can no longer do disc to disc burns and have to rely on making images from my 2nd drive.

If I put the same disc in my 2nd drive it works fine. Non-movie dvds (video games, driver discs) can be explored with no issue whatsoever.

I run windows 7 and have the dvd region set to 1. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drive via the device manager but it had no effect.

sinosleep

Honorable
Nov 17, 2012
I am an administrator. I can also explore video game and driver dvds in it with no issue. Also, as I mentioned earlier, I can put the same exact same dvd in my 2nd dvd drive and explore at will with no issues. Only movies are giving me problems. If it was a rights issue wouldn't I be getting the same error on my 2nd drive?

sinosleep

Honorable
Nov 17, 2012
I enable the secret admin account just to see if that would make any difference. Logged on to it and noticed that when I use that account there are duplicates of my optical drives. It shows 4 instead of 2 although they're duplicates not new drive letters. Is that an indication of anything?

Also the drive in question still gets the same error if I have a movie dvd in.

Then there is a setting in the second dvd drive that is different from the first one that is giving you the problem. Are both drives the same , brand , model ?