Asus m2n-e Bios Recovery

AWonder

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2011
Hey all,

First time here posting but I read up on these forums a lot. They really have helped me get out of a jam or two. Here's a jam I can't quite get out of though. I got a hand-me-down desktop computer from a friend of mine. I'm a student and all I'm rocking now is an old HP Pavillion DV 1000 laptop (I know, ancient right?). So having this new desktop would be fantastic. I put on Windows 7 and installed all the drivers. I had everything working and was able to play a few games on there as well. In my excited haste, I thought it would be a good idea to update the BIOS on the motherboard too... I still feel like an idiot, haha. It froze near the end of the BIOS update so I prayed and hit the soft reset button. The computer now powers on, spins all the fans for about 2-3 seconds and then shuts right off. The monitor doesn't change from a black screen at all.

Here are the specs for the desktop
Asus m2n-e motherboard
Corsair 1GB DDR2 533Mhz RAM
Athlon 64 CPU
ATI Radeon x1600
450-500W PSU (I'm not sure exactly, the person I got this from requested all the stickers to be removed when it was built but I know it's between 450-500W)

I've tried a few things so far. Here is the list
- Removed RAM and powered on to hear for POST beeps. There were none. Computer powers on, spins fans, then powers off.
- Removed CPU and powered on to hear from POST beeps. There were none. Computer powers on, spins fans, then powers off.
- Unseated CMOS battery, waited for 2-3 minutes and reseated
- Unseated CMOS battery, changed jumper from default to CLRTC, waited 2-3 minutes, changed jumper back to default and then reseated battery
- Unseated CMOS battery, changed jumper from default to CLRTC, powered on, powered off, changed jumper back to default and then reseated battery