Confused:Stick with current Processor or Migrate to Advanced i7?

Sahil_kr

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2010
Hi Everyone,My Configuration:
MOBO-Intel Dg31Pr
CPU-INtel core 2 duo e7200@2.53Ghz
RAM-2GB DDR2@800MHZ
NO GPU
I want to play all the Latest games that are available(Star Wars,Dirt 2,Sims,GTA,Street Fighter)since i am an Engineering Student i need my PC,24*7
Likewise i am running Music,i open Mozilla Firefox,Open Microsoft Office,Utorrent is running always,i listen Video Songs too.
However Video Editing/Graphic Designing is not my Primary Aim.
So please guys suggest me Pc Upgradation,what i need to Upgrade?

Plumble

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2010
Win 7 Does not need virtualisation capable CPU to run (unless you want XP mode).
Your current setup should run it reasonably.

Intel say that the board can take the LGA 775 quads

But as it only has a 4-pin CPU power, higher-end LGA775 quad core would struggle.
(Mine does and throttles speed areound 50C)

The PSU would also need to be replaced and as rolli59 put it, you would want a discrete GPU.

Sahil_kr

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2010
I have this System for Around 2 Years,so i think so that it could not be sold at this Much($300)
And that Budget,($700) is too much high for me,(600$) is the Maximum i can Afford.

Yes you can. Here's worse computers for a higher price:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Compaq+-+Presario+Desktop+/+AMD+Sempron%26%23153;+Processor+/+2GB+Memory+/+500GB+Hard+Drive/9963938.p?id=1218202472178&skuId=9963938
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/eMachines+-+Desktop+/+Intel%26%23174;+Celeron%26%23174;+Processor+/+2GB+Memory+/+500GB+Hard+Drive/9974267.p?id=1218204533255&skuId=9974267
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883108390

I said $700 is a good build price because $400 that you can't spend any more than plus $300 of the system you have adds to $700.