Sign in with
Your question

Hopefully able to upgrade from a G100

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 12, 2010 10:03:00 PM

First off this was not a homebuilt computer, i bought it from staples and here are my basic Specs:

Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5200 @ 2.5GHz
Memory: 3070 RAM
GPU: GeForce G100
PSU: 250W (I think)

So Final Fantasy 14 is coming out and i was wondering if theres a way i would be able to get this computer good enough to run it decently. Is there a video card that i would be able to get that would be a major improvment that can run on a 250W PSU? I've searched around but i'm not very tech savvy :( 

More about : upgrade g100

a c 153 U Graphics card
July 12, 2010 10:06:41 PM

Well, what is your budget? Your best bet would be to get a better PSU and GPU at the same time....

Also what motherboard do you have? You can use CPU-z to figure it out.
m
l
July 12, 2010 10:09:46 PM

Sorry about that meant to include my budget. My Budget is probably about $300 (Canadian). I'll download CPU-z now and edit this post in a minute.

=EDIT

Not exactly sure where to look, but i hope this is right:

Manufacturer: ACER
Model: MCP73VE NVIDIA MCP73
Chipset NVIDIA GeForce 7050
m
l
Related resources
a c 153 U Graphics card
July 12, 2010 10:45:47 PM

Is FFXIV the only game you care about? Do you care about the setting you play it at?
m
l
July 12, 2010 10:50:15 PM

Yup, thats the only game i care about, i'm not too worried about any new games coming out or any single player games, and low settings is fine, anywhere in the 20-30 FPS would be great. (That's what WoW runs at for me right now on average)

I downloaded the benchmark for it, and my score was less than 1500, which didn't seem right but is probably because the fan on my GPU is messed and it keeps skyrocketing to almost 100F, and then slowly back down.

I'm also open to buying a whole new computer if i can keep the price under $700 CND, but would prefer to upgrade this one if at all possible.
m
l