Photoshop computer build $2000 w/monitor

harryzedhughes

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2010
hello, Im harry.
I am a digital painter who is in need of a new computer. (living in australia if thats relevant)and was thinking of building one myself for the first time.

to give you an idea of the kind of file sizes i would like to work on. currently i am working on a photoshop file that is 950mb it is 16000x1200pixels or 135x100cm at 300dpi so i can print it.

this is why i am trying to build a fast compute with maybe 8gb of ram. i would also like to leave room to upgrade the ram. and from this i guess i was thinking i7 870 (apparently very good for photoshop http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-core-i5,2410-12.html ) i think because it has hyperthreading it can handle lots of ram? and will be able to handle more ram in the future.

i found this site: http://www.hardware-revolution.com/build-a-1500-computer-for-webphotoaudiovideo3d-workloads-that-you-can-be-proud-of/ for a comp i was thinking i would try and build myself. i wouldn't get as much ram or such a large ssd (to try and same some money for the monitor).

would RAID 0 be good for me?

for a video card i was thinking a Radeon HD 5770 1GB

big monitor with correct colors (close as possible to what i will be printing, )

Griffolion

Distinguished
May 28, 2009
I would suggest:

Intel I7 930
Asus P6X58D-E
12GB (6x2GB) Corsair XMS3 1333Mhz
1GB GTX 460
40GB Corsair Force Series SSD
2 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 in RAID 1 (mirror config for backup security)
Corsair TX 650
Any case you want.

Not sure about the monitor, maybe one of the new LED LCD monitors with the 800,000:1 contrast ratio's.

Mr Pizza

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2010
^ he lives in Australia.. not the UK.... uhh..

change the ssd from above ^
to an OCZ 40GB Vertex 2

and get 6gb of ram and see how it is and if you really need more after that, get more.

and get some g.skill ram ;)

Griffolion

Distinguished
May 28, 2009