Zotac gts 250

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Zotac
  • Crysis
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics Cards
July 13, 2010 10:35:36 AM

hello sir i am struck in a very strange situation i recently bought a zotac geforce gts 250 eco edition 1 gb.But i noticed a strange problem it is giving very low fps in crysis,crysis warhead and many other games.For eg in crysis all settings medium and at a resolution of 1024*768 i barely get 24 fps.I have a cooler master xtreme power plus 460 w which has only 1 pcie*6 pin connector and my gts 250 requires a 8 pin connector.So i used an adapter given by zotac which 8 pin to 2 6 pin connector.So i connected 1 pcie *6 pin into 1 of the 6pin pcie adapter and 1 pcie *6 pin was left.So for this i used a 2*4pin molex connector to 6 pin pcie.Now i connected it's 6pin pcie into zotac's adapter.So i think it may a power shrtage problem.the idle temperature of gfx card is 70 c.Please help me.My system config. are
Intel dual core e2160
1 gb ram ddr2
160 gb hdd
Zotac gts 250 eco edition
Cooler master extreme power plus 460 w

More about : zotac gts 250

a c 197 U Graphics card
July 13, 2010 10:52:21 AM

Your CPU, what speed? You must OC it to above 2.5Ghz.
RAM? only 1GB? Get another 1GB and run it on dual channel mode.
m
l

Best solution

a b U Graphics card
July 13, 2010 11:01:13 AM

Here are the problems:

1. PSU
You need to rectify the 8-pin requirement. I'm not very comfortable with the 6-pin adapter theory. If it needs an 8-pin connector, give it 8-pins! No point risking your card getting fried.

2. RAM
1 gig of RAM isn't enough for Crysis. Get yourself 2 gigs on DDR3 instead of DDR2

3. CPU
Too low buddy....consider upgrading that, at least to a Core2Quad@2.4

Probably not what you wanted to hear, but its the truth. :) 
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
July 13, 2010 12:11:25 PM

Might want to add a better case to that list if your card is idling at 70 degrees too. Clearly theres airflow issues in the case to consider.