Sign in with
Your question
Solved

X58/1366 or P67/1155 for gaming build?

Last response: in Motherboards
June 26, 2011 2:27:15 AM

Hello, I've done a ton of research on these 2 motherboard options and I'm still torn between the two. Hoping you guys can help me out, its clear there's a lot of knowledgeable people here. I'm a computer gaming noob.

Please note that I intend to install either 2 gtx 480 sli, or more likely a 3gb gtx 580.

So, for me it seems the heart of the matter is: does the P67 "sandy bridge" better cpu efficiency and future chipset support warrant purchase over the x58 being a proven socket, the fastest socket, 6 core cpu support, more pcie bandwith, and tri channel memory?

Would it really make any difference that there is to be no more 1366 x58 support in the near future? I'm not sure what the implications of that even mean to me exactly.

FYI these are 2 of the comps I'm considering:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/ite...

ANY opinions/help will be greatly appreciated.

Best solution

a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 136 V Motherboard
June 26, 2011 6:45:09 AM

Hello and welcome to the forums
I'd recommend P67(or Z68 if you can get it) because except for the i7 990x(which is a 6-core CPU),Sandy bridge CPUs are faster than the previous socket 1156 CPUs.
Neither PCI-E bandwidth and tri-channel memory have a great effect on performance.
Furthermore,I recommend 1 580 over 2 480s because although 2 480s are faster but they consume much more power and are notably louder,so go with 580 unless you play on resolutions higher than 1080p
a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 262 V Motherboard
June 26, 2011 6:34:19 PM

Of the two, the P67 based system will be superior.

But, for a gaming sustem you can do much better by building one yourself.

The graphics card is much more important than the cpu for gaming.
The 2600K is a fine chip, but for gaming, the 2500K at $100 less will be equally good.
m
l
Related resources