First build ~$800 gaming computer

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Gaming
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
August 18, 2010 5:43:55 PM

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: next 2 weeks

BUDGET RANGE: ~$800 After Rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: casual gaming, some programming for school, watching movies, surfing the internet

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, wherever's cheapest

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: US

PARTS PREFERENCES: I was thinking of getting a Core-i5 760

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: This is my first build. I don't need to play the latest games on the best settings, although better would be nice. I'm willing to spend a little more if it's worth it. I can get the Core-i5 760 at Microcenter for $185 after tax :) 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More about : build 800 gaming computer

Best solution

August 18, 2010 7:05:22 PM

I don't keep up to date with newegg.com for deals and things (there are better places for us up here in Canada), but here's the parts I'd recommend... Should be pretty close to your budget.

i5-760 processor
MSI P55-GD55 motherboard (or buy an SLI one if you want to go that route in the future)
4gb GSkill Ripjaws RAM (I use the Red 1600mhz CAS9 stuff a lot)
GTX 460 768mb video card (1gb one is nice too if you want to spend a few more dollars)
550w-ish PSU (those BFG ones are cheap since they went out of business)
Case of your choice (Antec 300? etc)
1tb hard drive (or whatever you'd like)
DVD Burner