Help avoiding issues.

rrbiv

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2010
Hello Tomshardware,

This is my first time ever building a pc. I paid $1,500 for an Alienware desktop and then had it taken apart in my living room floor 7 days later by dell's dispatched tech support. I later kicked this guy out of my house because he jacked up my pc worse than it was before he started. I decided my next pc would be custom built by me.

However, I am a little concerned with one particular component of this build. I have done lots of research for the last several months and bounced back between Intel and AMD. But that’s not my issue. First I guess you should see what I have. Here goes....

I7-930 cpu
Corsair H50 Liquid Cpu Cooler
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R mobo
Corsair Dominator 6gb (3x2gb) DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24 1.65v ram
EVGA 470 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 gpu
Kingwin Mach 1 1000w psu
2x WD Caviar Black SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5 500gb hdd
Lite-On 22x DVD Writer
Xion Predator 970 mid tower case
Win7 64 bit OEM os
Artic silver 5 thermal paste

My question is on the Gigabyte motherboard mostly. However, I would welcome any other feed back that anybody can offer that my help me to complete my first build successfully. I hope to avoid any unforeseen pitfalls that my un-training eyes may miss.

I have read that the particular gigabyte board I picked is not exactly problem free. Any words or wisdom, drivers to avoid, drivers to download, tools to download, or anything I am not even aware of to ask an educated question.

Thanks in advance for any advice that you can offer me regarding the related parts for my upcoming build.

Wish me luck.

The PSU you chose performs well, but only has a 1 year warranty and is made by a company with a questionable history... Super Flower.

The Corsair HX850 is enough for the build and more efficient. It is a better PSU in every other way also.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139011&Tpk=HX850

I think the UD3R is a good budget choice.