Sabertooth 990FX HELP!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

shang005

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2011
Hi guys, newbie here hitting a wall with this new system I built.

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX AM3+ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131736&cm_re=sabertooth_990fx-_-13-131-736-_-Product
Phenom II 955 black
Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
Crucial M4 64GB SSD (Boot Drive running Windows 7 64 Bit)
WD Caviar black 1T 7200 SATA 6GB/S
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After installation, I did a few service / OS changes to optimize my SSD based on web reviews / guides and then tried to install drivers. It looked like all the drivers were installed, the JMicron and RealTek Audio/Lan. But my chipset drive seems to not work, when I tried to install it from the DVD, or a newer version downloaded from the Asus website (I ran it as admin). A command prompt opened, and 10 seconds later it disappeared and then nothing is happening, I'm assuming that this means there is something wrong, because aside from nothing popping up, there was no confirmation or prompt to restarted my computer. I called Asus but 2 of the tech I got were either too dumb to realize what I'm even asking, or just repeatedly told me to update my bios to the SAME VERSION I already had on the MoBo.

Long story short, any expert or owner of this particular board can shed some light as to what is happening when I tried to install the chipset drivers? Did it work in the background? How do I verify in windows that the chipset drivers have indeed been installed, or not.

BIG DAD

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2008
Ha...brother mine has done the same thing I dont know if it installed or not i think not because i have all kinds of problems with audio, memory, video......

gumbology

Distinguished
May 6, 2011
Hm. Found this while investigating my own sound issues.