SSD OS and software help

nrm123

Honorable
Nov 21, 2012
Hey all, i'm sure you've had this question many times before ive had a search and cant find anything. Ive just bought a 240GB SSD on the Amazon Black Friday deals, I understand there are better but it was a spare of the moment thing. What i want it for is OS booting and games.

My question is how can i install my OS and Games onto the SSD (software codes only have 1 use). Ive looked at cloning but i only want the Operating System, Games and Sony Vegas etc. Reinstalling the OS would mean losing everything (lost Microsoft office disk/key not spending another £80 for it).

This is probably simple for you but because i've never used an SSD before i dont know the easiest answer. any help would be much appreciated, thanks :)

p.s. i will be an active member on these forums not here just for an answer then disappear like a lot of people do.

americanbrian

Distinguished
Take out your current drive completely.

Install a fresh OS onto the SSD.

Reconnect your old HDD.

The applications installed on it will still work. (assuming you don't change OS version). You will not need to re-install office. just create a shortcut to it on your desktop.

Your welcome...

nrm123

Honorable
Nov 21, 2012
Ive got Win7 Home Premium installed but only got a copy of Win7 pro..thats going to throw a wobbly isnt it?

nrm123

Honorable
Nov 21, 2012
thanks for your help. :) when i recieve it ill try it out :) just need to find a good bit of software to transfer steam data over so games will work off SSD

jemm

Distinguished
You will not lose anything on your HDD, no worry!

Just disconnect the HDD cables, then install the OS into the SSD -- set it to AHCI and make it your primary boot driver.

When you finish the installation, reconnect the HDD cables, and you will see everything is still there to include the old OS.

Then you can transfer some files, programs, or just use them from there.

nrm123

Honorable
Nov 21, 2012