Sign in with
Your question

New build PSU + Motherboard connection woes

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
a b B Homebuilt system
a b V Motherboard
August 20, 2010 1:23:38 AM

hello. I am a first time PC builder and I was assembling my first ~$1500 rig today and I ran into a few problems. I know enough about PCs to get me by, but I'm not extremely tech-literate so hopefully I don't sound like a fool.

1. I have a power LED cable attached to my case. It has two wires, but the connector has three slots and I can't find where it goes. On the motherboard, the only place where I have three slots are where my system fans go, and obviously that is not the place for them. There are about seven slots for things like my reset button and power button, and I thought this would be where the LED goes, but in the set-up guide that came with my mobo it states that these slots are only for cables that require two connection slots.

2. I have a cord that I am assuming is for the headphone port on the case, but it has two connections - one that says "HD AUDIO" and one that says "AC 97". My mobo only has a single "J AUD 1" slot. Could you explain which one I need to plug in?

3. My case features an LED temp reader on the front - however, the wire has both an in and an out 4-pin molex connector. Do I need to plug both ends into the power supply, or just one? How does this work?

4. I'm also having trouble figuring out where my hard drive LED cable goes, as my mobo's manual mentioned nothing of that sort of connection.

5. Lastly and most importantly, my case comes with two 230mm fans whose only connection is through one 2-pin molex connector. The case features its own speed controller for the fans, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to get them running. My modular power supply (assumingly like your average power supply) has ports for the CPU, MOBO, two PCIE/CPU 8P slots, and 5 IDE/SATA slots. How do I get these fans running?

I appreciate your time. Thank you.