Asus Sabertooth P67 (revision B3) socket clamp damaging the CPU

testctv

Distinguished
May 5, 2010
Hi

I purchased an Asus Sabertooth P67 motherboard (B3 revision) 2 days ago alongside an Intel Core i7 2600K CPU (Sandy Bridge).

I have been working in the IT industry since 2003 so I am well-seasoned with computers which makes this issue/concern even more alarming and validates it as a genuine problem area on Asus' behalf.

While installing the CPU I ensured that it was facing the correct direction and that it was seated correctly into the socket (2 CPU notches aligned with the 2 socket notches). I then closed the clamp and ensured that it was caught underneath the catch pin protruding from the motherboard. Last but not least I closed the lever arm to and hooked it under its securing catch.

The concern I had was the amount of force that had to be used to secure the clamping mechanism. I won't say it was enough force to break anything but definitely more force that say an LGA 775 socket would require. I did notice online that other people have experienced this issue too. Here is an example: http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=918765&page=142

I installed the cooler thereafter and eventually booted up the PC and installed the OS without any issues. Only after closer inspection did I notice that the CPU temperature was a bit higher than what I would have expected (60-70 degrees Celsius) with average load. I decided to remove the cooler and inspect it as well as the CPU and socket too.

I could not immediately see an issue and thus decided to remove the CPU to clean the thermal compound to reapply the compound and install everything else again.