Backup: RAID vs Incremental, Internal vs External

puppydust

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2012
Hello everyone, this is my first post on TH!

I've got a new system and after a scare where I nearly lost all my life's work (through my own stupidity!) I am looking at a secure way to back up my work.

I am a graphic designer and animator and my work uses primarily Photoshop and After Effects. Currently my set up is a 6-core machine with a 256GB SSD for my OS/Boot drive, and a 3TB Seagate Barracuda HD for my storage. After acquainting myself with the options I'd just like to run my thoughts past a more knowledgeable bunch!

Option 1: Buy another 3TB HD and set up RAID 1 along side the original.

Option 2: Buy another 3TB HD and set up incremental (daily) backups using Acronis software (that came bundled with my machine)

Option 3: Buy an external 3TB hard drive and set up incremental (daily) backups.

As far as I can see, RAID is not strictly 'backup' per se, it just provides security in case the original HD fails. I'm not entirely sure option 1 is really the right one, but as I'm confused about RAID I thought I'd put it in to find out more: In particular, why would anyone use RAID 1 when they could set up an incremental backup instead? Let's say I accidentally deleted something, with incremental backup I could fish it out of the previous backup, and if my HD failed, I'd have the backup to rely on too. With RAID, if my HD failed I'd be covered, but if I accidentally deleted something then I think I'm right in saying that the deletion would have an instant effect across both disks. The only benefit from RAID that I can see is that the back up would be more (a day) up to date. Can anyone confirm this is the case?