Sign in with
Your question

Please give advice for next step - power problems - I'm stuck!

Last response: in Systems
August 22, 2010 4:51:13 PM

Hello,
I asked this question Friday but I never got an awnser and am stuck here. Hoping someone could help. My first computer build and I can get it powered on. The lights and fans turn on for one second, then turn off.

From reading the FAQs it looks like it could be a short. I have taken the mobo off and put it on a cardboard box. I get the same results.

The power supply appears to work because I used the paper clip trick to power it on and then fans and light go on fine.

What is my next step - like I said I am new at this and feel like I got in over my head now. Dont really know anyone in town that know much about this kind of thing, hoping for some advice.

Is there some other possibility of a short occuring on the mobo because of an error I have made? Should I try a new mobo? Should I take it to a computer repair shop because I am in over my head?

One think I thought it could be but dosent seem likely is that my power supply is for 530 w and my book said if I use two cards that I need 600w. The newegg calculator said I would require only 400 or so watts supplied.

The only other part of the build I didnt successfully complete (I think) is that the HD led connector isnt hooked up to the mobo. I cant seem to find that with my case or with the hard drive. Would that make the computer not run?
Thanks for any help! I am lost

1 x HD 1T|SEAGATE 7K ST31000528AS OEM - OEM

1 x PSU RAIDMAX | HYBRID2 RX-530SS 530W

1 x DVD BRN ASUS | DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS% - OEM

1 x CPU AMD|PH II X4 955BE 3.2G AM3

1 x MEM 4Gx2|GSKILL F3-8500CL7D-8GBRL R

1 x CASE XCLIO|A380BK RT

1 x MB ASUS M4A79XTD EVO 790X AM3 RT

2 x VGA ASUS|EAH5450 SILENT/DI/1GD2 R

1 x CARD READ|ROSEWILL RCR-IC001 R

1 x UPS CYBERPOWER | CP1000AVRLCD RT

August 22, 2010 8:44:56 PM

Have you tried it with only ONE video card installed?