Painting my PC case.

rionrace

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010
Hello all!

I'm new to this site but i don't know if this is the right place for this topic,

I need help in painting my case. I already some steps in painting your case:

1. Sand your pc with a special sand blower. ( I was wondering if this could also be done with sandpaper..?).
2. Clean your computer (With a cloth, thats what i heard at least).
3. Apply the primer (I'm going for a white pc case colour, does the primer need to be the same colour?).
4. Let the primer dry for at least 24 Hours. (Correct?).
5. Wetsand the primer. (Not sanding it to the metal to the bone).
6. Apply the second paint job. (And letting it dry of course).
7. And i've also heard that it was optional to apply a shiny mixture.

I'm new to painting the computer case, i've never done it and i just want to be sure.
I'm going for a white colour outside and a blue colour inside.
Also going to add blue paint inside and cutting a hole in the side of the case for some plastic
glass to look trough. (With light cubes).

Essex

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2010
I don't think you need to treat your case with a special stand blower, it will probably cost you a fortune. Just sandpaper the case with. Go to your lokal DIY store, he will probably know better which product to use. Don't sandpaper to much though, just enough to make some microscopic groves so that the primer can attach properly. After the sandpapering clean everything, degrease it. Apply the primer, which should be white ( check instruction for drying times ). Then apply the paint, and then you can apply the second cote. The guys at a DIY store probably would know more, so just ask them. After all, all that you are doing is just painting metal. Ohh yeah maybee you should get heat resistant paint, because temps can go pretty high.

rionrace

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010

Thanks for your quick reply,

Should i also use sandpaper after applying the primer?