Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Which of the 3 - 5850 Grafix Cards

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 19, 2010 9:37:23 PM

Hello Everyone,
Once again I need some advice from all you smart people here at Toms Hardware.

Thanks to everyone that helped in my last post, I decided to go with the 5850 for a new grafix card to go in my new gaming rig. Now comes the next question. Of the 3, which one?

Here is what I am looking at:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I only see one difference in the first 2 and XFX'x site didnt help any. One is totally encased with a cover, and one is open. One would think an open case would have better cooling. But I would think a closed case would channel it better to make up for it. But they are pcie x16 v2.1 and I'm uncertain if I want to chance if it'll work in the Crosshair III motheboard. I read they are backwards compatible, but some people had problems.

I am new to these higher end cards, so any info will help me greatly. As I understand, the 5850 will also O.C. a bit, should I choose to try it. I dont see documentation where any of these cards have a voltage control though. This is yet another lesson to learn on this system, (which is why I built it) I do plan to buy a second a little later on to try crossfire to see for myself the improvements/differences.

The third one ( the Sapphire) has all the same specs as far as I can see, but it borderlines my absolute max limit in budget(including shipping). However if it is a better card than the XFX, I may go for it, and at least it is pcie x16 v2.0.

More about : 5850 grafix cards

a b U Graphics card
July 19, 2010 10:02:28 PM

mild overclock = Sapphire 5850 vapor-x

insane overclock = Asus 5850 DirectCU

not so great 5850 with the best warranty = XFX 5850
m
l
July 19, 2010 11:14:39 PM

Thanks OvrClkr,