RAID vs Boot SSD vs Cache SSD vs RAMDisk

2DIE

Honorable
Nov 22, 2012
Hello guys, I am new to building computers and I would like to know how to get "snappy" performance from my HHD.

I have the following components:
Phenom II x4 965 3.4GHz Quad Core
ASRock 970 Extreme3
WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM 64MB
16GB (4x4) G.Skill RipjawsX 1333MHz 7-7-7-21
ASUS HD7770 OC Edition (don't know if that's relevant)

I would like to know what would be the best option for me to have faster read speeds with a budget of about $100.

I could buy another HDD the same as the one I have but I am not sure I would like a extra 50% chance of losing everything on my HD.

With a SSD as a boot drive, I was under the impression it would only make the boot times faster but I saw some results that looked like it was speeding everything up, is that right?

With a proper Cache SSD kit (apparently they last longer?) would that be faster than using a SSD as a boot drive?

I still don't understand totally but with RAMDisk or RAMDisk caching I saw that 16GB to 32GB of ram was recommended. I went with 16GB but I am thinking even if I can store anything on there, half of that I'm not really going to see much gains on unless its used as a cache but I am not sure will it shorten the life of my ram?

What would be the best option for me?

2DIE

Honorable
Nov 22, 2012
Thanks for your quick reply.

I am from Australia and Newegg does not deliver here.

Is there any reason to get a 120GB SD if its just for the OS?

Well not knowing the prices where you live it would be hard to recomend a SSD but if you can pick one up for aroung your budget price and try to make it the largest that you can. The reason for that is stated in my first post and that is for the capacity.