Are any components on this Cyber build junk?

computer_idiot

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2010
Hi-

I am putting a computer together primarily for doing research on relatively large databases and am hoping to keep the budget around $2000. As you can see with the 24gb of RAM and SSD, I believe the size and speed of memory are important. The following build comes out to about $2100 with discounts/rebates/shipping, which is fine. I have no homebuilding experience and have limited time, so I'm okay with paying the $300 premium to have it built for me. However, my concern is that CP may put crap parts in certain places. Unfortunately, I don't know enough about hardware to make that determination myself. Is there anything in the list below that looks suspicious? Also, any other comments on the build in general are most welcome. Thanks in advance.

-CI

•CD: 24X Double Layer Dual Format DVD+-R/+-RW + CD-R/RW Drive (BLACK COLOR)
•CAS: * CoolerMaster 690 II Advanced Mid-Tower Gaming Case (Black Color)
•CPU: [Special] Intel® Core™ i7-950 3.06 GHz 8M Intel Smart Cache LGA1366 [Ship after 8/28]
•FAN: Asetek 550LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan (Advanced Cooling Performance + Extreme Silent at 20dBA) [+18]
•HDD: 120GB Corsair Force 120 Gaming MLC Solid State Disk [+260] (Single Hard Drive)
•HDD2: 640GB SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 64MB Cache 7200RPM HDD [+69] (Single Hard Drive)
•MULTIVIEW: Non-SLI/Non-CrossFireX Mode Supports Multiple Monitors
•MEMORY: 24GB (4GBx6) DDR3/1333MHz Triple Channel Memory [+783] (Corsair or Major Brand)
•MOTHERBOARD: * (3-Way SLI Support) GigaByte GA-X58A-UD3R Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX Ultra Durable™3 Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 ATX Mainboard w/ 7.1 Dolby Audio, eSATA, GbLAN, USB3.0, 2 x SATA-III RAID, IEEE1394a, 4 Gen2 PCIe, 2 PCIe X1 & 1 PCI [+42]
•OS: Microsoft® Windows® 7 Professional [+135] (64-bit Edition)
•OVERCLOCK: Extreme OC (Extreme Overclock 20% or more) [+49]
•POWERSUPPLY: 600 Watts - XtremeGear Power Supply - SLI/CrossFireX Ready [+26]