Windows Server 2008 R2

Sandreason

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2010
Hello, I am a business owner and I need to make a purchasing decision on a server and system for the business. I am considering Windows Server 2008 R2 with SQL Server 2008 R2 and Intel Xenon 7500 series processor. I am concerned mostly with dependability and reliability but I also would like a system that can grow as the business grows and more demand is placed on the server. I am willing to make the investment and will be hiring techs but sort of need to know what system I will be going with before hiring a tech company. Any recommendations or experiences would be highly appreciated.

winblowzxp

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2010
Intel Xeon (Xenon is a gas) processors are great workhorses. If you want dependability and reliability, I would go with a Linux or UNIX server since you're hiring techs. Most tech companies that are worth their salt know these systems very well.

I recommend Linux or UNIX also because they have fewer security vulnerabilities than Windows Server. They are also more scalable in that those operating systems were designed specifically for networking and have been around for a very long time. It also utilizes system resources more efficiently than Windows. You can also tailor the prioritization and threading of processes much finer than you can in Windows; as your business grows you don't have to upgrade your processing capacity as often.

Server 2008 isn't a bad choice. That and SQL Server 2008 isn't a bad combination...you can't dominate the world with it, but you can get by with it.

Kewlx25

Distinguished
now all you have to do is find programmers for your Linux/Unix system. They cost a bit more and are hard to find good ones.

edit: Linux is great and if you can find a programmer, then you're set. Might wanna ask in the Linux forum, they might know a good place to advertise a job.