Adobe Premiere Pro editing wrokstation

G

I confess, I am a computer novice. All I know is I have fiddled with Adobe Premiere Pro on an inadequate machine, now dead (probably a boot sector virus) and I have the tech support to build an adequate workstation, but I need to compile my wish list. Switching to Apple and Final Cut is tempting, but out of my ideal price range. My budget is--laughably--under $1000. I know I can't build a pro unit on this, but I can make do on something that will give me the means to improve my understanding of Premiere Pro.

I have looked at prebuilt machines and am astonished by the inadequate power supplies accompanying otherwise good components. I could simply switch out the power supply,graphics card, and install RAID arrays on these $900+ machines, but I think I can save money and get what I really want if I build it myself (with help).

This is what I know:
1.I want a quad core (i7?) processor.
2. I want at least 4GB RAM, with room for more.
3. No integrated video or sound.
4. Must have RAID array 1TB each, with room for second, partioned RAID.

What really has me hung up is a motherboard. I don't need more than I'll ever use, but it seems like all the motherboards I've looked at either have integrated sound, don't support firewire, or require all the memory slots be filled.

I know I'm a total noob at this, but any help is appreciated!

I dun think $1K is a laughable price point considering these are the sort of Premiere Pro rigs i do up for peeps (non mission critical, either not aiming to use Mercury Engine or awaiting more mainstream non professional GPUs to be officially in the list of Mercury Playback Engine supported list)
Untitled-453.jpg

After market cooler if intending to OC a.s.ap
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103046

A case for GPU computing: Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 and the Mercury Playback Engine