Status
Not open for further replies.

null2005

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2010
Hey so i have a friend that needs help runing Cod black ops. Everything else is fine but the Cpu he has AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000.
and im an intel man and cannot help because i don't know how the measurements work for AMD. So im wondering what would be a good Amd Cpu for him to buy with good temps. I know the game it self wants an AMD Phenom™ X3 8750, but im not sure if that is a good Cpu for overclocking and other games.

Solution
Hello Null2005,

^Yep thats an AM2 motherboard.^

[EDIT] Sorry, but I see now that the CPU does not meet the minimum system requirements but that does not always mean you cannot run the game. I could run MOH just fine and I was below the minimum. The biggest difference between the two is 1mb of chache and one less core. But I am not an AMD expert and really cant off much more advice without doing alot of poking around the web.

One thing your friend might want to consider Null is that I have heard(I do not own it....Yet, anyways I taking a wait and see approach) that COD Black Ops is full of bugs and not running very well for anyone right now really. Maybe he can wait a week or two and see if they get the game and the severs more polished...

thechief73

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2010
Hello Null2005,

^Yep thats an AM2 motherboard.^

[EDIT] Sorry, but I see now that the CPU does not meet the minimum system requirements but that does not always mean you cannot run the game. I could run MOH just fine and I was below the minimum. The biggest difference between the two is 1mb of chache and one less core. But I am not an AMD expert and really cant off much more advice without doing alot of poking around the web.