Sign in with
Your question

HTPC + audio/video ripping/converting, not gaming

Last response: in Systems
August 27, 2010 8:48:17 AM

Hi,

Well, my title says most of it. I would like to build a moderately priced HTPC that would also serve some other functions. I'm not a gamer and don't do too much serious video/photo editing. But would be nice to be able to watch an HD movie while ripping/converting audio or video in the background simultaneously. Also might host audio or video for my netbook or roommate's laptop, etc. Would like it to be as low power as possible, as it will likely always be on. This is my first time building a computer.

Budget is $500-$800, not counting OS (I'd like to be on the lower end of that!). The build below comes to $588 - $681 depending on RAM.

Core i3-540 (Microcenter) - $100 - I like the 73 W and good performance/price. I think for my purposes, quad core is unnecessary, esp with hyperthreading.

ASRock H55M Pro LGA 1156 Intel H55 HDMI Micro ATX (Newegg) - $90 *or* ASUS P7H55-M PRO LGA 1156 Intel H55 HDMI Micro ATX (NewEgg) - $90 Both seem pretty comparable. Thoughts? Others I should consider?

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (Newegg) - $93 *or* 2 for $170 - Do I need 8 GB? Any reason to get faster memory?