Sign in with
Your question

Computer shuts down during Windows 7 install...

Last response: in Systems
August 28, 2010 8:21:28 AM

Yeah.
It's my first time building a computer, and hallelujah, everything works, until I try to install windows 7 pro (32 bit).
Specs:
Intel i5 750
Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) PC3-10600 RAM Memory
Gigabyte GA-P55-US3L Intel H55 Express 1156 Motherboard
Palit/XpertVision GTX 460 Graphics Card
Corsair 650 W TX PSU
500 GB Samsung HD502HJ Spinpoint F3 Hard Drive
Xclio Propeller Midi Tower Case with 36cm Quiet Fan on Side Pane w/o PSU
Samsung SH-D163C Black, 48x CD-ROM 16x DVD-ROM, SATA, OEM
2x 120mm Xclio Orange LED Case Fan, Quiet, Clear Fan With 4 Orange LED

I doubt the CPU is overheating because of the 36cm fan and the 2 120mm fans that I've installed into the case, + the heatsink. When try to install windows 7, the screen say that it's preparing the files for installation, during this, it's prepared to around 40% then the power switches off. However, when my dad came to help me with this problem and I checked the fans to see if they were working, he apparently said that the bar had gotten to around 60%, I changed the BIOS settings to the reccomended default or w/e it's called, do you guys have any idea what the problem is?
a b B Homebuilt system
August 28, 2010 10:52:34 AM

Sorry for stating the obvious, but the installation process does need a few automatic restarts. Is it just that, or does the system just shuts down and doesn't restart?
August 28, 2010 11:17:30 AM

It just shuts down and it doesn't restart, well, I waited for one minute before trying to start it up again.
Related resources
November 21, 2010 4:53:29 PM

I'm having the same problem with my new build using Win 7 Pro 64-bit and a GigaByte GA-H55-USB3 MBO. I don't think it's software or OS (well, may OS/HW interaction). I suspect it's a BIOS setting.
a b B Homebuilt system
November 21, 2010 5:15:10 PM