Problems with an i5 750 - Could use a hand..

AnsharSeraphim

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2010
First off, this is my first time posting in this forum, so thank you very much for your time in reading my post, and apologies if I've posted this in the wrong forum area (I'm hoping I haven't).

My computer has been giving me a huge headache, and while I'd like to consider myself pretty techno-savvy, I've hit a brick wall.

I bought an i5 750 processor, along with an Asus Sabretooth 55i motherboard, 8gb of OCZ DDR3 12800, and a Palit GTX 285 2GB Graphics Card. I built the machine myself with a brand new 1000W Power Supply.

After 6 or so months of working flawlessly, my computer began to blue screen and freeze/crash the moment I opened 3d video games. Thinking immediately that it was a graphics card problem, I sent the card in for RMA, but when I got it back, the problem persisted with a brand new card.

I found out that when I removed 2 of the 4 sticks of RAM in the machine, the freezing problem would go away but I would still get a screen blackout and a nvlddmkm error that would kick me out of most games.

I ran a full MEMtest on the memory to make sure I didn't have a failed stick.

I called OCZ, and they had me try different timings with my memory, but no timing setting would make my computer stable. It was then that they recommended I buy RAM with a lower base voltage, because the i5/i7 has a lower operating voltage. So, I dropped money on low voltage RAM that runs at 1.65v instead of 1.85v. The problem persisted (which also eliminated faulty RAM from the mix).

I thought perhaps that I might be having a motherboard problem, so I flashed the BIOS, and the problem persisted. I figured I was going to build another machine for my girlfriend anyway, so I purchased another Sabretooth 55i motherboard and switched it out for the existing motherboard. The problem... PERSISTED.