Sign in with
Your question

Help Upgrading Motherboard/CPU/RAM

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
November 17, 2010 9:52:37 AM

Hello,I have a few questions, I'm new to the upgrading of Motherboards, CPU's and RAM.

Basically I wish to upgrade to a Quad-Core Processor, right now I have Dual-Core.

I believe that my current Motherboard will not be able to support a Quad-Core, so I will have to upgrade that as well as the RAM.

First of all, my current Specs:
-Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
-ATI Radeon HD5870
-AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor ~2.5GHz
-4GB DDR2 RAM, 1GB GDDR5 RAM
-750 Watt PSU (All I know, sorry)
-MSI MS-7250 Motherboard, Nvidia nForce 570 SLI Chipset

I want a Motherboard that supports something like a Intel i5, DDR3 RAM and such, my budget is about £350 for all 3 components.

Anyhow, I'd appreciate any help, and if I have left something out, please ask and I will inform you of what it is you need to know.

Thanks.
a b à CPUs
November 17, 2010 10:25:19 AM

I suggest you take on the AMD way and purchase a phenom X4..i5 and x4 really dont have much differences between them..I have both and heck i cant distinguish any performance difference..What do want to use this pc for?
November 17, 2010 10:37:07 AM

As for your budget
Motherboard : GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
CPU : Intel Core i5-760
RAM : Kingston HyperX 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 CL9

Conclusion : Motherboard is full of futures , support CrossFireX as well
CPU is Quad core Great Performance on games and multi tasking
as for rams its bus 1600 CL 9 , if you could pay more and get CL 7

Related resources
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
November 17, 2010 12:28:25 PM

I will be using this PC for PC Gaming, so I'll add that I would also like the Motherboard and CPU to be able to play some recent games well.
a c 108 à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
November 17, 2010 12:50:41 PM

Quote: