New Build Assistance

dashoe65

Distinguished
Aug 28, 2010
Hey All,
I'm looking to build a new computer for around $1100.

My last build was a e6400 core2duo. I can't really use anything from that build (except for my 25 inch beautiful monitor). I have, regrettably, not kept up with technology since I graduated over a year ago. My goal is to have a computer that can run Starcraft 2 at max settings, as well as the ability to run the future Final Fantasy MMO at near max settings.

I am not opposed to the AMD chipsets, but I have had great success with Intel in the past (I have been looking at the i7).

So... basically... the perfect build for me would include:

This Antec case looks nice, I am not sure of what PSU I would use though:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129021&cm_re=Antec_Case-_-11-129-021-_-Product

Intel i7 920/930

Any Mobo that works well (ASUS or Gigabyte)

6 gb of ddr3 ram (not sure of which ram or how much to get)

80 GB ssd (Or 60GB doesn't matter)
1 TB HDD

Radeon 5870 (just looks so good,I can probably do with a down grade)

Maybe liquid cooling (Never done it before though, don't know how difficult or expensive it would be though)

Random dvd burner

All recommendations of AMD, different Mobos, cases, ram, graphics card, etc. I can use all the help you can provide.

Thanks,

David the Shoemaker

runningbot

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2010
The 930 is a great chip. Why liquid cooling, do you plan to extreme oc your chip?

Can't argue with your GPU, it's a great card. If money is an issue you can always pick up a 4870 for cheap.

I'd suggest this mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128423

There is a lot of good ram options out there so I'd shop around. I'm partial to Crucial so I'd probably go with this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148254

I've also used G-Skill brand ram in the past and have no complaints.