Your question

Building the Machine

Tags:
  • Motherboards
  • Product
Last response: in Motherboards
July 13, 2011 2:51:47 AM

Hi,

I'm pretty new at building computers so a few of these may be "basic" questions, but I'd appreciate getting an opinion from you the wise!

I'm going to be using an Intel i5 processor.

What I Want In A Motherboard
I'm looking for best gaming potential as well as the ability to expand long term, if that's possible.
The ability to place larger fans on top of the CPU (assuming that helps lifespan as well as performance)
HDMI (as long as its better on the motherboard)
At least 1 USB 3.0
RAID capability
PCIe 2.0

With these preferences in mind here are a the questions:
Is the Z68 really worth the price over and above the P67 Motherboards? On that note, are there other motherboards that may not be on my radar, since these are primarily the two types of boards that I'm looking at?

Is it better to have the HDMI output on the motherboard or the graphic card?

Which do you think are the best for $100 motherboards and $200 motherboards?

Does overclocking affect the lifespan of your CPU?

Thank you for your help!

More about : building machine

a b V Motherboard
July 13, 2011 5:45:05 AM

If you are looking for future use, get an Asus z68 socket 1155 motherboard with an i5 2500k. That should get you going for a while. Get a good CPU cooler and you will be set for that, simply "placing fans ontop of the CPU" won't do much, just buy a solid cooler. If you aren't overclocking, the stock intel cooler will be just fine.

Buy a videocard with HDMI out, It will make you much better off than integrated. Look for a video card with an Audio controller to allow audio via HDMI. (It may be standard on all newer cards, I don't run HDMI out of the machine I have with a new card so don't know if it works)

PCIe 2.0 or greater is a standard on new boards, don't concern yourself there.

I believe Z68 boards have USB 3.0 on them.