SSD Partitioning help/suggestions?

pluginbb

Honorable
Dec 3, 2012
Hello,

I recently got a new SSD and will be installing Win7 on it. Before I do that, I was wondering about some things:

Will partitioning decrease performance of the ssd? The reason I want different partitions is because I want OS on one partition, and the other partition will be for big programs that I need to load fast (such as Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign, as well as World of Warcraft).

I don't want to keep them in the same partition as the OS because they are huge and if I decide to reinstall OS, I really don't want to go through the installing process for those again as well as reconfiguring them. I've had a similar file organizing system for a decade or so on my HDD (which I will still keep for general file storage).

Also, will the partitions on the SSD be merged into one during fresh windows reinstall? I know that doesn't happen with old mechanical hard drives, but I'm new to SSDs and I tried searching for posts about it and accidently stumbled on a post that suggested that would happen.

Lastly, would you recommend having the Program Files (with general and smaller programs) folder in C-drive (the same as the OS), or in different partition altogether (or perhaps even the HDD?)

You say you want the partition for Large programs:
Two things, If you have to reinstall OS, You must also re-install programs weather they were on C or D.
That said, Re-installing OS is SO BC (Before color TV) - LOL. OK so-8" Floppy disk drive (for thoughs who remember the 8" FDDs) instead of BC

Take advantage of Windows 7 Back-up and create a system image.
Need to re-install windows:
.. Pop in Window 7 Install disk (or the repair disk that you will be prompted to Make.
.. Select repair, then restore from Image.
.. 10 - 15 minutes later Walla-Bam-thank-you-Ma# you reboot into windows just like it was when you created the image.