First Build: Need Advice for ~1000-1250 Gamer Build

kosaku30

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2010
I just started planning out a new computer. I've never build a computer before, but would like to try. My main focus is on reliability and value first and then performance second. Since I am new to this, I do not really plan on overclocking unless it is extremely beneficial and not really risky. I have selected most of the parts (listed below), but I am not extremely set on any part. Any feedback and recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Plan to build mid September 2010

BUDGET RANGE: $1000-1250 after rebates and taxes (can exceed a little)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: (e.g.: newegg.com, ncix.com -- to show us selection & pricing)

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel/Nvidia

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080, 1920x1200

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parts:

CPU: Intel i7 930

MOBO: Asus px58d-e ~230 from amazon

Wouldn't mind downgrading to a cheaper Mobo with less functionality as long as it is reliable. Can't see myself using the usb 3.0 anytime soon.

Ram: OCZ Gold Tri Channel 6GB PC10666 DDR3 Memory - 1333MHz ~ 110

Is OCZ a quality memory company? Would I be better off buying memory from other companies such as Corsair or Crucial? I was mostly looking for the best deal on memory.

HSF: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus ~30

Wasn't sure on this, but just tried to find a budget cooler that had value.

HDD: Western Digital 640 GB Caviar Black SATA 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Desktop Hard Drive WD6402AAEX ~ 70

PSU & Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion and Antec EA750 Combo ~ 150

I think the 750W is excessive, but I figured it was a better deal than the 650W.