Help with installation please

NickCapolupo

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2010
Ok, this is my first time trying to build a computer. Let me start by stating whats in my build, and then Im hoping someone can give me pointers like where to start, and what order to install everything for the parts I have.

Phenom II x4 965 CPU
ASRock Xtreme 770 Mobo
GTX 460 GPU
4gb Kingston HyperX (2 X 2gb) DDR3 1600
OCZ Fatal1ty 550W PSU
Samsung Spinpoint 1TB Hard Drive
Samsung DVD Drive
Antec 600 Case

Now for the questions...

1. What should I put in first, Ive seen it done several ways online. Install the CPU on the mobo first? Install the Mobo first? Power supply before or after mobo? etc...

2. The Antec 600 is a bottom mount PSU case. Fan needs to face up on Fatal1ty PSU from what I read, but it is facing down. How do I mount it correctly in this case?

3. If anyone is familiar with my specific components, if you have any pointers, or guidence, anything to help me get through this without breaking anything, I really need the help. I cant afford to replace anything as Im a broke mofo now, so i gotta get it right the first time.

4. CMOS and BIOS are almost a foreign language to me right now. I mean, I get BIOS is like the menu before windows opens where you configure stuff, but thats all I know.

HELP ME!!! Im reay and eager to learn how to put all these goodies together. :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

sportsfanboy

Distinguished
Definitely install the cpu and cpu fan out of the case on a piece of cardboard or other non conductive surface material. Main reason for this is, it's a lot easier to verify a correct install when it is out of the case. A good majority of cpu heat issues are because of incorrect cpu heatsink fan installation.

I would also put all the drives in first,as well as the psu,so your not poking around the motherboard with metal objects.