4GB to 8GB System Dies

swindlehurst

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2010
Ive recently purchased more ram ive increased from 4GB to 8Gb ive bought the same type of ram and my board supports 8GB but now my system has 3 beeps at the beginning ive tried pretty much everything 1 stick at a time ressetting cmos removing bat and a complete deassemble reassemble but still cant get past the 3 beeps tried a new motherboard battery too ive also returned new ram back to the shop for a replacment but everything worked when he put it in his comp at the shop

intel skyborg dsp45sg
intell 6600q
sapphire 6950 2GB
ddr3 1333
windows 7 home

im new to fiddling with pcs but im sure ive done things right

It's important to have the RAM speeds identical (even though in some cases the higher speed RAM will clock down).

3 beeps usually indicate RAM failure. Re-seat all sticks of RAM. Review the specs of your computer regarding maximum RAM for your specific model.

Sometimes you need to bump up the voltage on the MCH a little when running with all memory slots filled. Go into the bios and bump up the MCH voltage .1v at a time and see if it stabilizes. You may also need to bump the ram voltage a little too.

You can also check out the support on the memory manufacture's web site. Some are really good at diagnosing problems if you tell them which motherboard you have.

Also, you may want to check for a bios update. Usually it will say something like improves memory compatibility or such.

Maybe your power in 'your' location is bad; e.g. not 60Hz. Try another wall socket. Otherwise you didn't 'seat' the RAM properly in the DIMM slots...

swindlehurst

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2010

i cant get it to bios just keeps giving me the same 3 beeps

I guess I misread above, I thought YOUR PC worked at the shop.

RAM working in one PC but not another proves nothing. Your problems can be your PC or incompatible RAM for your PC.

Q - Please provide links and answer the following:
1. "intel skyborg dsp45sg" ->