Asus M4A79XTD Evo, Computer doesnt boot with 2 sticks of ram installed

asimons11

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2011
Hello, Ive been fighting with my computer for over 2 months now. Its a new build that has never worked right. :fou:

Specs:
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
G.Skill Sniper gaming ram DDR3 1333 2x4gb 1.5v
AMD Phenom x4 965 Denai Black Edition Cpu
500Gb Western Digital HDD
500 Watt psu
Nvidia 9500gt video card
Liteon dvd/cd burner
Raidmax Smildon Durktooth case

Ive literally replaced every component in this build.

MY PROBLEM: The computer will not post/boot with both sticks of ram in the motherboard. I have tried all the slots, a new motherboard, new ram i received today... Everything has been replaced. I dont know if maybe it is a bios setting, I have everything set to AUTO. I dont know enough about the bios to go in and manually set the ram values.

The motherboard does error beep when there is no ram installed. Ive ran memtest86 on the ram, no errors.

The computer post/boots perfect when I use one stick. It doesnt matter which stick i use or what slot i put it in, it boots every time. As soon as the second stick is installed, no post beep/no boot.

Solution
If you replaced as stated then the chance of a bad DIMM slot is nearly zip. If you reset the BIOS via a Clear CMOS - jumper then ECC Mode is Disabled. If you replaced all of that stuff and indeed have the latest BIOS then you need to start thinking 'shorts.'

1. Try increasing the NB Voltage -> 1.20-1.30v in addition to what is listed above.
Try A1 + B1 and A2 + B2

2. Shorting:
A. Vanilla Stand-off short:
Unscrew all of the MOBO and PCIe screws, dangle the MOBO supported by towel and pull away from anything conductive; otherwise full breadboard

B. Test Everything for a short:
Unplug ALL headers: USB & Front Panel
Unscrew all of the MOBO and PCIe screws, dangle the MOBO supported by towel and pull away from anything conductive...

asimons11

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2011
ALSO,