Sign in with
Your question

$500 SYSTEM!! Feedback/Help Please!

Last response: in Systems
September 1, 2010 4:38:18 PM

I have never built a system before, but I want to within the next couple of months. I have hand-picked my components. PLEASE HELP.

This build DOES NOT include:
-OS
-Monitor
-Speakers
-Mouse
-Keyboard

I don't need to worry about those right now. I have XP Pro. Question: will all 4gb of RAM be used on XP Pro or should I upgrade to Win7?

THIS IS MY BUILD:

CPU: $79.99
MOBO: $89.99
RAM: $92.99
GPU: $72.99
HD: $59.99
CASE+PSU: $89.99
DVD: $17.99

Sub-Total: $503.93
Shipping: $18.85

Final Total: $522.78

QUESTION: are there any compatibility issues?

Please, comment, advise, help, recommend, suggest.
ALL FEEDBACK IS APPRECIATED!

More about : 500 system feedback

September 1, 2010 4:56:06 PM

It would really help if we knew at least what you were going to use it for. Without that, we're really just guessing.

I was going to say not bad, but then I got to the GPU and PSU. That's a really old GPU, which if the point of the build is to game, wouldn't cut it. The PSU also isn't a great choice as Rosewill is kind of an off brand. Their cases are decent though.

If you're looking for a gaming build, this is about as good as you can get for $500:

CPU: X3 440 $75
Mobo: ASRock 770 Extreme3 $75
RAM: G.Skill Eco 2x2 GB 1600 mhz CAS Latency 7 $99
GPU: HD 5770 $130 after rebate
HDD/PSU: Samsung Spinpoint F3 500 GB and OCZ Fatal1ty 550W $85 after rebate
Case/Optical: Rosewill Blackbone and cheap SATA DVD burner $44

Total: $508
September 1, 2010 5:04:22 PM

Faster, lower power ram. Also no heat spreaders so it wont affect your CPU cooler.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

The Samsung F3 500GB and Seagate 7200.12 500GB HDDs are only $55 and much faster than that old 640GB WD Black.

I hate to buy the case with a PSU like that. Almost guarantees that the PSU is cheap junk.